Pain

I have learned to wade into the shallow waters of pain.

To recognize my reflection in its murky waves

letting my body, weighless to its power

surrender to this undulating will


I bare witness as my ego sinks to the bottom, 

feeding the ravenous hunger that fill it

dying a little from this  unwanted surrender.

I claw at life, 

at joy,

holding on,

searching for respite. 

Hoping against these insistent waters

to find revival in its depth.

for nourishment to fill my soul, in this place

Leave a Reply

